The University of the Punjab was formally established with the convening of its first meeting of its senate on October 14, 1882 at Shimla. It was the fourth University to be established by the British Colonial Authorities on the Indian Subcontinent. The first three universities were establish by the British rulers at their initial strongholds of Bombay, Madras and Calcutta. The University of the Punjab came into existence as a result of long drawn struggle of the people of the Punjab after the war of independence in 1857. Contrary to the three previously established universities, which were only examining institutions, the University of the Punjab was both teaching as well as examining body right form the beginning.

University of the Punjab is located in the Historical and Culturally active city of Lahore. At present various on-campus teaching and research programs of the University are organized under fifty institutes, departments, constituent colleges or centers, which run over one hundred degree, diploma or certificate programs. Research leading to PhD degree is an integral part of the academic programs in many disciplines. New academic programs have been introduced recently according to the current requirements. This has gradually expanded the academic activity of the University.

It is commendable that the University of the Punjab has created a modern infrastructure to make it possible for students to update their knowledge in various scientific disciplines since modern technology has become an essential vehicle of rapid progress. At the same time, the University has been quite successful in maintaining a balance between modern trends in education and its old traditions. As Chancellor, I am confident that efforts to excel in the field of higher education and the inculcation of moral values in the students at the University Campus will continue in future with a greater zeal.